Have you been in a situation when you screenshot an Instagram story and felt anxious about the user being notified by Instagram? You must have seen someone’s story and would want to screenshot it but dropped the idea thinking they would get notified. Well, in this guide, we will let you know everything you need to know about screenshotting an Instagram story.
- Instagram does not notify other users when you screenshot their Instagram story.
- If you screenshot someone’s Instagram picture or video, they will not get notified.
- If you want to know who took a screenshot of your Instagram video or picture, then there are three ways to do it.
However, you must read till the end to know more about users getting notified when you screenshot an Instagram story.
Will Instagram notify you if someone took a screenshot of your story?
The answer to this question is No. Instagram does not have this feature yet. Therefore if someone took a screenshot of your Instagram stories, you will never be notified from Instagram. We all have been in this situation when we screenshotted someone’s Instagram story and shared the story with our friends. But also kept wondering if Instagram would send them a notification. But you need not worry as Instagram has not updated this feature yet. So you can take a screenshot of the Instagram story you want. Other cases when Instagram does not notify the users are when someone restricts you, when someone removes you, when someone searches you, and when someone unfollows you.
The Vanish Mode
You must be wondering if you can always take screenshots on Instagram without letting the other person know. But things are different with the Vanish Mode.
If you take a screenshot when the vanish mode is on, the other person will get notified. This means that you need to be very mindful while taking a screenshot of something sent in the Vanish Mode on Instagram. So if you don’t want to get caught taking screenshots on Instagram, you need to avoid taking a screenshot.
Will the Other User Get Notified If You Take a Screenshot of a Direct Message?
You know that Instagram does not notify other users when you take a screenshot of their Instagram story, but things are different with the Instagram DMs.
If you screenshot something for example disappearing video or picture that someone sent you, the user will definitely get notified. But this is only the case with Disappearing Instagram Direct Messages. Taking screenshots of a direct message is never a problem until someone sends you disappearing messages on Instagram. If you are texting, then screenshotting the direct message will not be a problem. But if you screenshot a disappearing video or a picture, then the user will get notified.
Will Instagram Notify Someone if You Screenshot Their Instagram Highlight?
Highlights on Instagram are the past stories users wish to show on their profiles. To access someone’s highlights, you have to go to someone’s Instagram profile and right on their profile, you will see their Highlights (only if they have added them to their profile).
Highlights are visible to all your Instagram followers. If you want to add highlights, you can go to the archive stories and add the desired story to the Highlights. Talking about screenshotting an Instagram highlight, Instagram does not have this feature yet. When you screenshot someone’s Instagram highlights they will not get a notification. Just like screenshotting an Instagram story, the user will never be notified when you screenshot someone’s Highlights.
Will Instagram Notify Other Users If You Screenshot Their Instagram Reel Or Post?
The answer to this question is No. instagram will not notify the other users if you screenshot their Instagram post or their Instagram reels. This means that you can guardedly take screenshots of a user’s Instagram reel and Instagram Posts.
Will Instagram Notify a Close Friend If I Screenshot Their Instagram Story?
Close friends are the list of users that you prioritize on Instagram and create a private list of those users. They appear with a green icon on Instagram and you can share exclusive content with those users. Till 2023, there is no such feature when you screenshot a story of your close friend and they will get notified by Instagram. If you view the story of your Close friend, they will only be able to see that you viewed their story and will not be able to know if you screenshot their story. If Instagram does not send a notification to users when you screenshot their Instagram story, it will also not notify your Close friends.
Will Instagram Notify Other Users If You Screenshot Their Instagram Profile Picture?
If you screenshotted someone’s Instagram profile picture and are now wondering if you would get caught as they will get notified, then you are wrong. Instagram will never notify any user if you screenshot their Instagram profile picture as Instagram does not have this feature yet. Therefore you will never get caught if you screenshot someone’s profile picture. In addition to this, you must be aware of the fact that if the other person is not getting notified by Instagram, then you will also not be able to find out that someone has screenshotted your Instagram profile picture.
How would you know if Someone Took a Screenshot on Instagram?
To know if someone took a screenshot of your Instagram posts, reels, and stories, then you must be aware of the methods ahead.
Method 1: Through Third-Party Apps
Though Instagram does not allow you to know who has screenshotted your Instagram stories, reels, and posts, you should not feel disheartened as the third-party apps are always there to help you. These apps will let you know what Instagram does not. Therefore if you want to know who took a screenshot of your Instagram story, you need to download a good third-party app to provide you with the information.
Bonus Tip: You should always be mindful while using a third-party app as they may not be safe all the time. These third-party apps ask you for your login credentials which also contain your password. After you log in, the app will have access to all your data and your safety and privacy might be at risk. Therefore we always suggest you stay away from such apps. Use it only when the situation is unavoidable.
Method 2: The Disappearing Messages
If you want to know that someone is always screenshotting your posts and reels on Instagram, you can try using the disappearing messages trick. While you are texting that person, you just need to send disappearing messages such as disappearing videos and disappearing pictures. As soon as they will take a screenshot, you will get notified about it.
Method 3: The Vanish Mode
You can use this method also. If you want to know that the other user takes screenshots of your pictures and videos on Instagram, you just need to open your chat with that person and swipe up to activate vanish mode. After the vanish mode is turned on, send them a picture or video of yours. If they screenshot the picture or video, you will get notified in the chat.
Have you been wondering for a long time if you screenshot someone’s Instagram story, will they get notified? If yes then you need not worry as this is not something to worry about. Instagram does not allow its users to know who screenshotted their Instagram story. In addition to this, users will also not get notified if you screenshot their Instagram pictures, reels, videos, and Instagram profile pictures. But you should be aware of the fact that the other users will not get notified if you take a screenshot of their Instagram story, posts, or reels, then you will also not be able to see who screenshotted your content on Instagram, as Instagram works the same for everyone.
Snapchat is a social media app that notifies users about screenshots.
As of now, there are no such updates by Instagram that this feature will be introduced in the year 2024.
No, Instagram will not notify the other user if you screenshot the chat until the vanish mode is on.